Skip to main content

Black History Month: Recent Fiction for Adults

Vanessa Miller
Current price: $18.99
There is only one known queen who truly ruled a kingdom on American soil. Transformative and breathtakingly honest, The American Queen is based on actual events that occurred between 1865 - 1889 and shares the unsung history of a Black woman who built a kingdom as a refuge for the courageous people ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Simone Antangana Bekono
Current price: $26.99
A bold, unsettling, surprisingly tender debut novel for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Nightcrawling. Salomé Atabong is the sixteen-year-old daughter of a Cameroonian father and a Dutch mother, living in the Netherlands. She arrives at a juvenile detention center to start a six-month sentence for a viol ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Tracey Rose Peyton
Current price: $18.99
A RECOMMENDED READ FROM: The Washington Post • Atlanta Journal-Constitution • CrimeReads • Library Journal A gripping, radically intimate debut novel about a group of enslaved women staging a covert rebellion against their owners On a struggling Texas plantation, six enslaved women slip from their s ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
As seen on The TODAY Show! Bestselling author ReShonda Tate presents a fascinating fictional portrait of Hattie McDaniel, one of Hollywood’s most prolific but woefully underappreciated stars—and the first Black person ever to win an Oscar for her role as Mammy in the critically acclaimed classic fil ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
A breathtaking poetry collection on hope, heart, and heritage from the most prominent and promising Black poets and writers of our time, edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander. In this comprehensive and vibrant poetry anthology, bestselling author and poet Kwame Alexander c ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Tia Williams
Previous price: $29.00 Current price: $23.20
In this sexy modern-day fairytale from the New York Times bestselling author of Seven Days in June, a free-spirited florist and an enigmatic musician share a soul mate connection told through the history, art, and magic of Harlem. “Tia Williams is a superlative author constantly testing her own boun ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Tlotlo Tsamaase
Current price: $28.00
“A fearless novel that probes ideas of surveillance, misogyny and class. . . . Tsamaase brilliantly tackles ideas of motherhood and autonomy. The author seamlessly blends a body-hopping ghost story about revenge with a narrative about the importance of memory. It’s such an original first novel, and ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Nisi Shawl
Current price: $28.99
Kinning, the sequel to Nisi Shawl’s acclaimed debut novel Everfair, continues the stunning alternate history where barkcloth airships soar through the sky, varied peoples build a new society together, and colonies claim their freedom from imperialist tyrants. The Great War is over. Everfair has foun ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Gabriel Bump
Current price: $27.00
**A 2023 NEW YORK TIMES and WASHINGTON POST Notable Book and a BOSTON GLOBE Best Book of the Year** From the Ernest J. Gaines Award-winning author of Everywhere You Don't Belong, a touching, timely novel—called "smart, witty" by the New York Times Book Review, "fascinating" by the Boston Globe, and ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Tananarive Due
Previous price: $28.99 Current price: $23.19
A New York Times Notable Book“You’re in for a treat. The Reformatory is one of those books you can’t put down. Tananarive Due hit it out of the park.” —Stephen King A gripping, page-turning novel set in Jim Crow Florida that follows Robert Stephens Jr. as he’s sent to a segregated reform school that ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
S. A. Cosby
Current price: $27.99
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • USA Today Bestseller • Washington Post’s The Twelve Best Thrillers of the Year • TIME’s 100 Must Read Books of the Year • Goodreads Choice Award Nominee • USA Today’s Best Reviewed Books of the Year • BookPage's Best Mystery of the Year • Publishers Weekly’s Best ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
S. A. Cosby
Current price: $27.99
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • USA Today Bestseller • Washington Post’s The Twelve Best Thrillers of the Year • TIME’s 100 Must Read Books of the Year • Goodreads Choice Award Nominee • USA Today’s Best Reviewed Books of the Year • BookPage's Best Mystery of the Year • Publishers Weekly’s Best ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
James McBride
Previous price: $28.00 Current price: $22.40
THE RUNAWAY NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY NPR/FRESH AIR, WASHINGTON POST, THE NEW YORKER, AND TIME MAGAZINE ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF 2023 “A murder mystery locked inside a Great American Novel . . . Charming, smart, heart-blis ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Named a Must Read by Ebony ∙ Boston Herald  ∙ Book Riot  ∙  Bookish  ∙ Minneapolis Star-Tribune and more! A body falls from a town house window in Harlem, and it looks just like the newest singer at the Apollo...in this evocative, twisting new novel from the author of Miss Aldridge Regrets. Harlem, ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
The New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice • A one-volume selection of four novels in the legendary detective series—blistering, groundbreaking capers set in Harlem's criminal underworld—by master crime writer Chester Himes. With an introduction by New York Times bestselling author S.A. Cosby. “ ... Read More about
Backordered